RYA First Aid

Introduction

Essential for all those involved with the sea this one day course covers all the usual first aid topics but from a boating perspective. Additional specific boating topics are also covered. When you are out on the water, you may find that you are the vital link to help someone until professional help can reach you. In a medical emergency, knowledge of first aid can save lives, especially in remote locations.

It fulfils the requirements for professional skippers of craft sailing less than 60 miles from a safe haven and offshore racers subject to ISAF’s regulations. The course is recommended by the MCA and HSE.

Course content

  • The ability to act safely and effectively when an accident or emergency occurs;
  • The treatment and priorities of care for an unconscious patient;
  • The recognition and treatment of a person in seizure;
  • The recognition of cardiac arrest and delivery of cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) including an overview of AEDs;
  • The ability to recognise and safely treat a patient who is choking;
  • The ability to safely and promptly treat a patient who is bleeding;
  • The keeping of simple records following an accident.

The subjects specific to boating include:

  • The recovery position in a confined space;
  • Drowning;
  • Cold shock and hypothermia from immersion and/or exposure;
  • Seasickness and dehydration;
  • Medical assistance or advice by VHF
  • Helicopter rescue
  • Category C Medical Stores

Pre-course requirements:

  • None, but must be 18 years for the Category C Medical Stores endorsement.

Costs & Dates

Per Person
Price£70

 

Duration: 1 day

For 2018 this course runs on the following dates:

From 09:00 to 17:00

  • Saturday 20th January
  • Wednesday 07th February
  • Saturday 17th February
  • Saturday 10th March
  • Wednesday 21st March
  • Saturday 07th April
  • Wednesday 11th April
  • Saturday 5th May
  • Wednesday 16th May
  • Wednesday 06th June
  • Saturday 23rd June
  • Saturday 07th July
  • Wednesday 18th July
  • Saturday 04th August
  • Wednesday 15th August
  • Wednesday 05th September
  • Saturday 22nd September
  • Wednesday 10th October
  • Saturday 28th October
  • Wednesday 07th November
  • Sunday 25th November
  • Wednesday 05th December
  • Saturday 15th December