Elementary First Aid

Introduction

This one day course teaches basic first aid and life-saving skills with a balance of theory and practical work during training. It is designed to meet the minimum requirement for familiarisation and basic safety training for seafarers with designated emergency duties.

This course is part of the mandatory basic safety training courses, which also include: Personal Safety and Social Responsibilities, Proficiency in Security Awareness, Personal Survival Techniques and Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting.

The course is included in our STCW Basic Safety Training Week.

Course content

  • The ability to act safely and effectively when an accident or emergency occurs;
  • The treatment and priorities of care for an unconscious patient;
  • The recognition and treatment of a person in seizure;
  • The recognition of cardiac arrest and delivery of cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) including an overview of AEDs;
  • The ability to recognise and safely treat a patient who is choking;
  • The ability to safely and promptly treat a patient who is bleeding;
  • The keeping of simple records following an accident.
  • The recovery position in a confined space;
  • Drowning;
  • Cold shock and hypothermia from immersion and/or exposure;
  • Seasickness and dehydration;
  • Medical assistance or advice by VHF
  • Helicopter rescue
  • Category C Medical Stores

Costs & Dates

Per Person
Price£105

 

Duration: 1 day

For 2018 this course runs on the following dates:

  • Saturday 20th January
  • Wednesday 07th February
  • Saturday 17th February
  • Saturday 10th March
  • Wednesday 21st March
  • Saturday 07th April
  • Wednesday 11th April
  • Saturday 5th May
  • Wednesday 16th May
  • Wednesday 06th June
  • Saturday 23rd June
  • Saturday 07th July
  • Wednesday 18th July
  • Saturday 04th August
  • Wednesday 15th August
  • Wednesday 05th September
  • Saturday 22nd September
  • Wednesday 10th October
  • Saturday 28th October
  • Wednesday 07th November
  • Sunday 25th November
  • Wednesday 05th December
  • Saturday 15th December