VHF/ SRC, GMDSS Radio Direct Assessment

Introduction

Before Completing the Marine Radio Practical Exam you have to do one of part 1

The course is split into two distinctive separate sections:

Part 1  A. Complete the RYA SRC/VHF Radio operator course in our classroom on set days

You can enrol on to our classroom based course run twice monthly. This is a days training course with an instructor teaching and guiding you through the VHF/GMDSS Syllabus preparing you for the Exam which is in the afternoon of the days training. this is all completed on one day.

Part 1  B. Complete the RYA SRC/VHF Radio operator course online – 6-8 hours.

you can enrol through Falmouth School of Sailing on the RYA e-learning course. This allows you to progress at your own pace and at times convenient to you to work through the syllabus, recommended time is six hours. part of this before your assessment you will attend Falmouth School of Sailing for an hour’s supported familiarisation of the equipment before taking the written and practical exams.

 

Part 2 Complete practical radio operation and exam, as a Direct Assessment or during your classroom based course.

Option 1 Assessment at the end of our Classroom course

For the last part of your classroom based training course you will take this 1 hour exam, split into a short written SRC/VHF Exam and then a practical SRC/VHF Exam.

Option 2 Direct Assessments

This 1 hour session needs to legally take place at an RYA Recognised Training School and prepares you to take a short written SRC/VHF Exam. You can sit this exam at our training facility based in Falmouth, Cornwall or at any other RYA Registered Centre that may be closer to you. Exams can be arranged at a time to suit your diary at our training centre in Falmouth, Cornwall. There is an exam fee of £60 which is paid directly to the RYA.

Costs & Dates

Per Person
Price£60

How to sort out your payment for your Marine Radio SRC Exam

    • Step 1 – You will need to login to your RYA website account, if you do not have one you can register for free using this link

      RYA SRC Exam On-line Payments Service 

    • Step 2 – Choose your exam, (Marine Radio SRC Exam) and confirm acceptance of any declaration or terms (by a tick at the bottom left hand side of the page)
    • Step 3 – Confirm your details
    • Step 4 – Make payment by Credit or Debit card (MasterCard or VISA Debit or Credit only)
    • Step 5 – You will receive your order confirmation, and in a separate email your Exam Voucher to be taken with you as a printed copy to your exam at an RYA Recognised Training Centre you may email this to us direct to Falmouth School of Sailing

 

 

Duration: 

      • 10:00 –13:00 for Direct Assessments
      • or part of your classroom based course

 

Direct Assessment will be running on these date during 2018:

  • Wednesday 17th January
  • Saturday 27th January
  • Wednesday 14th February
  • Saturday 24th February
  • Wednesday 14th March
  • Saturday 31st March
  • Wednesday 18th April
  • Saturday 28th April
  • Wednesday 09th May
  • Saturday 26th May
  • Wednesday 13th June
  • Saturday 30th June
  • Wednesday 11th July
  • Saturday 28th July
  • Wednesday 08th August
  • Saturday 25th August
  • Wednesday 12th September
  • Saturday 29th September
  • Wednesday 17th October
  • Saturday 27th October
  • Wednesday 07th November
  • Saturday 24th November
  • Wednesday 05th December
  • Sunday 16th December