Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting (FPFF)

Introduction

Outlines precautions for minimising the risk of fire, the causes of fires and how to extinguish them. Also practical training using fire fighting equipment and breathing apparatus in our purpose built unique fire fighting training facility in Cornwall.  Realistic scenarios allow students to practise extinguishing various types and sizes of fires.

This course is part of the mandatory basic safety training courses, which also include: Personal Safety and Social Responsibilities, Proficiency in Security Awareness, Personal Survival Techniques and Elementary First Aid.

The course is included in our STCW Basic Safety Training Course.

Course content

  • Minimising the risk of fire;
  • Maintaining a state of readiness to respond to emergency situations involving fire;
  • Fighting and extinguishing a fire;
  • Shipboard fire-fighting organisation;
  • Location of fire-fighting appliances and emergency escape routes;
  • The elements of fire and explosion (the fire triangle);
  • Types and sources of ignition;
  • Flammable material, fire hazards and spread of fire;
  • Fire and smoke detection and automatic alarm systems;
  • Classification of fire and applicable extinguishing agents;

Costs & Dates

Per Person
Price £500

 

Duration: 2 days

From: 08:00 – 17:30

For 2019 this course run’s on the following dates:

  • Thursday 24th January – Friday 25 January
  • Thursday 14th February – Friday 15th February
  • Monday 04th March – Tuesday 05th March
  • Monday 15 April – Tuesday 16th April
  • Thursday 13th June – Friday 14th June
  • Thursday 30th July – Friday 31st July
  • Thursday 19th September – Friday 20th September
  • Thursday 24th October – Friday 25th October
  • Thursday 14th November – Friday 15th November
  • Thursday 05th December – Friday 06th December