STCW Basic Safety Training Course (BSTC)

Introduction

Under STCW, all new entrants to the maritime industries are required to complete an STCW Basic Safety Training Course before joining a vessel.

This course cover all the elements for a basic understanding of staying safe at sea through practical examples to help individuals learn how to handle different types of emergencies at sea.

Course content

This qualification has five mandatory components:

  1. Personal Safety and Social Responsibilities

A classroom-based course covering basic induction training in safety procedures and accident prevention, it also familiarises novices with the employment conditions and working environment on board.

  1. Proficiency in Security Awareness

The STCW Convention and Code as has been amended by the Manila amendments (2010) contains new requirements regarding security training. All personnel employed or engaged on board ships to which the ISPS Code applies, require this training to gain the knowledge, understanding and proficiency to work on ships without designated security duties.

  1. Personal Survival Techniques

Teaches the actions to be taken by individuals to protect themselves in emergency situations. The first session is classroom based covering theoretical elements. The second session is practical training using life jackets, survival suits and inflatable life rafts in the pool.

  1. Elementary First Aid

This one day course teaches basic first aid and life-saving skills with a balance of theory and practical work during training. It is designed to meet the minimum requirement for familiarisation and basic safety training for seafarers with designated emergency duties.

  1. Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting

Outlines precautions for minimising the risk of fire, the causes of fires and how to extinguish them. Also practical training using fire fighting equipment and breathing apparatus in our purpose built unique fire fighting training facility in Cornwall. Realistic scenarios allow students to practise extinguishing various types and sizes of fires.

 

Costs & Dates

Per Person
Price £845

 

Duration: 5 days

For 2019 this course runs on the following dates:

  • Tuesday 12th February – Saturday 16th February
  • Tuesday 05th March – Saturday 09th March
  • Sunday 14th April – Thursday 18th April
  • Tuesday 14th May – Saturday 18th May
  • Tuesday 11th June – Saturday 15th June
  • Tuesday 29th July – Saturday 03rd August
  • Tuesday 17th September – Saturday 21st September
  • Tuesday 22nd October – Saturday 26th October
  • Tuesday 12th November – Saturday 16th November
  • Tuesday 03rd December – Saturday 07th December