RYA VHF/SRC, GMDSS Marine Radio Assessment

Before Completing the Marine Radio Practical Exam (Part 2) you have to do either Option A or Option B of Part 1

 

Part 1: Complete an SRC/VHF Radio Training course

Option A. – Complete the RYA SRC/VHF Radio operator course in our classroom on set days

You can enrol on to our classroom based courses run twice monthly. This is a day’s training course with an instructor teaching and guiding you through the VHF/GMDSS Syllabus preparing you for the Exam which is in the afternoon of the day’s training. this is all completed on one day.

Option B. – Complete the RYA SRC/VHF Radio operator course online – 6-8 hours.

You can enrol with Falmouth School of Sailing on to the SRC – Online course. This allows you to progress at your own pace and at times convenient to you to work through the syllabus, recommended time is six hours.

 

Part 2 Complete practical radio operation and exam, as a Direct Assessment

This 1 hour assessment needs to legally take place at an RYA Recognised Training School.  You can sit this exam at our training facility based in Falmouth, Cornwall or at any other RYA Registered Centre that may be closer to you.

The Assessment – is split into two distinctive parts:

Part 1 Complete a 25 questions written paper and achieve 16 or more out of 25

Part 2 Complete practical radio operation exam.

 

Paying For Your Exam

Before booking your exam, you will need to pay the exam fee of £60.00 directly to the RYA by one of two ways

Option 1 – Online: – Through the RYA website please us the link below

Option 2 – By phone: – Call the RYA Office on +44 (0) 2380 604158 between 0900-1700 Monday to Friday UK local time to arrange payment. An additional £10 fee is payable if using this service.

If you book your SRC exam with Falmouth School of Sailing you will have the opportunity to practice with the radio equipment and ask any questions about the radios for an hour before your exam for a fee of £20.00 or if you have booked your online course with us this is free.

Costs & Dates

Per Person
Price £60

Duration: 

      • 10:00 –13:00 for VHF/GMDSS Short Range Marine Radio Exams
      • or part of your classroom based course

We have exams sessions held twice a month.

If you can’t make these please contact the office as we might be able to arranged others at a time to suit your diary.

For 2019 VHF/GMDSS Short Range Marine Radio Exams will be run on the following date.

  • Wednesday 09th January
  • Saturday 26th January
  • Tuesday 05th February
  • Saturday 23rd February
  • Wednesday 13th March
  • Saturday 30th March
  • Wednesday 10th April
  • Saturday 27th April
  • Wednesday 08th May
  • Saturday 25th May
  • Wednesday 05th June
  • Saturday 29th June
  • Wednesday 10th July
  • Saturday 27th July
  • Wednesday 07th August
  • Saturday 24th August
  • Wednesday 04th September
  • Saturday 28th September
  • Wednesday 09th October
  • Saturday 26th October
  • Wednesday 06th November
  • Saturday 30th November
  • Wednesday 18th December